A secondary head-to-head comparison of low-intensity focused ultrasound and repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation for motor recovery after stroke
Shuhong Zheng, Renxiu Bian, Haixin Song, Zhiping Liao, Ting Gao, Min Yan, Heqing Huang, Zuodong Lou, Fangchao Wu, Jianhua Li
PLOS One 2026 · 10.1371/journal.pone.0348030
Abstract
Background Low-intensity focused ultrasound (LIFU) is a non-invasive neuromodulation technique with high spatial precision and the ability to reach deeper brain regions, offering potential advantages for post-stroke rehabilitation. Repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) is a widely adopted non-invasive brain stimulation technique that modulates cortical excitability to promote neuroplasticity. However, direct head-to-head comparisons between these two modalities for post-stroke motor recovery remain limited. Objective To perform a secondary head-to-head comparison of LIFU and repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) for motor recovery after stroke, based on a prospectively registered randomized controlled trial. Methods This secondary analysis included patients with subacute stroke who received two weeks of standard rehabilitation combined with either LIFU (n = 25) or rTMS (n = 25) targeting the ipsilesional primary motor cortex. LIFU parameters: 0.5 MHz, spatial-peak pulse-average intensity (ISPPA) 10.2 W/cm² (free-field), pulse duration 0.2 ms, duty cycle 20%, 20 minutes per session, five days per week for two weeks (10 sessions total). rTMS parameters: 10 Hz, 80% resting motor threshold, 1,000 pulses per session (20 trains of 5 seconds), 20 minutes per session, five days per week for two weeks (10 sessions total). Motor outcomes were assessed using the Fugl-Meyer Assessment (FMA; upper and lower extremities), Modified Barthel Index (MBI), and Brunnstrom stages. Resting-state functional near-infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS) was used to evaluate cortical activity and functional connectivity before and after the intervention. Primary analyses were conducted in the intention-to-treat (ITT) population (n = 50), with completer analyses (n = 43) performed as sensitivity analyses. Results Both groups showed significant within-group improvements in FMA and MBI after the intervention (all p 0.05), and completer analyses yielded consistent between-group conclusions. In contrast, change-from-baseline analyses demonstrated greater improvements in FMA scores in the LIFU group compared with the rTMS group (ΔFMA upper limb: median 7 [IQR 3-10.5] vs. 2 [1-3], p = 0.001; lower limb: 3 [1-4.5] vs. 1 [0-1.5], p Conclusion LIFU and rTMS were associated with comparable short-term motor outcomes in subacute stroke. Differences observed in change-from-baseline motor improvements and exploratory neuroimaging measures suggest potential divergence in recovery dynamics and cortical modulation, warranting further investigation in larger, longitudinal studies. Trial registration This study was derived from a prospectively registered, three-arm randomized controlled trial in the Chinese Clinical Trial Registry (ChiCTR2500114687). The present manuscript reports a secondary head-to-head comparison between the two neuromodulation intervention arms.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: LIFU over ipsilesional M1 plus standard rehabilitation
Target: primary motor cortex — “ipsilesional primary motor cortex”
Device: other named manufacturer · Beijing Ruoao Medical Technology Co., Ltd. · FUT56067 ✓
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 0.2 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 1,000 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 20pulse duration × PRF gives 20% | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 1 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | 10.2 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | deratingsingle value | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | 3.4 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | 0.68 | ✓✓✓ |
Sonication in 1-s trains with an inter-stimulus interval of 0.2 s; 20 minutes per session, five days per week for two weeks.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— Secondary analysis of a three-arm RCT; 25 randomised to LIFU (43 of 50 across both arms completed); rTMS arm not an ultrasound exposure.exposures[0].in_situ.isppa_w_cm2— In situ values are estimated from literature attenuation models, not simulated or measured; recorded as derating.exposures[0].timing.sonication_duration_s— Train 1 s with 0.2 s interval; 20-min session; total pulses not stated.provenance— Paper is a secondary analysis of a registered RCT; unclear whether the LIFU exposure data were reported in an earlier paper; included here as the paper reports full exposure and outcomes.