Tremor reduction using multi-focus transcranial ultrasound stimulation system targeting the thalamus
Shirshak Shrestha, Alan Coreas, Janet Adeoti, Georgia Peacock, Catherine A. Swytink-Binnema, Nishaad Sheth, Ana Arantes, Conrad P. Rockel, Davide Martino, G. Bruce Pike, Zelma H.T. Kiss, Samuel Pichardo
Brain Stimulation 2026, 19, 102979 · 10.1016/j.brs.2025.11.006
Exposures
Exposure 1: Multi-focus TUS to left/right Vim of thalamus (ET and PD patients)
Target: ventral intermediate nucleus — “ventral intermediate nucleus (Vim) of the thalamus”
Device: not reported
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 250 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | not reportedimplied by duty cycle ÷ PRF: 1 ms (not stated by the paper) | ⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 100 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 10 | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | not reported |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | 46.9 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | simulationsingle value | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | 10 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported |
Multi-focus phased-array TUS delivered via optically-tracked neuronavigation guided by acoustic simulation (Babel-Brain); multiple focal spots were used on and around the intended Vim target to increase the effective stimulation area and mitigate small targeting errors. The whole procedure lasted approximately 2 hours; tremor was measured with an accelerometer before and after TUS delivery.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— 18 patients were enrolled but 3 were excluded from analysis for incomplete data collection (n=15 analysed); enrolled number (18) is reported here per convention, flagged for the enrolled/analysed discrepancy.n_sessions_per_subject— the paper does not explicitly state the number of TUS sessions per participant; the procedure is described as a single ~2 hour session but this is not stated in session-count terms.exposures[0].device.family— the phased-array transducer and driving hardware are not named/attributed to a manufacturer in the main text.exposures[0].timing.pulse_duration_ms— pulse duration is not explicitly stated in the main text; only PRF (100 Hz) and duty cycle (10%) are given, from which pulse duration could be computed (1 ms) but this was not done per instructions.exposures[0].in_situ.isppa_w_cm2— the abbreviation for the reported in-situ intensity is garbled in the source text ('I ' with a missing subscript); interpreted as spatial-peak pulse-average intensity (ISPPA) based on the wording 'spatial-peak pulse-average intensity'.