Transcutaneous auricular Vagus nerve stimulation for working memory enhancement: A comparative study of electrical and ultrasound stimulation
Alicia Falcon-Caro, Nicholas Myers, Marcus Kaiser, Hyuk Choi, Jae-Jun Song, JeYoung Jung
2026 · 10.64898/2026.03.06.710106
Abstract
Objectives Transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation (taVNS) is a non-invasive neuromodulation technique that has shown potential to enhance cognitive function, including working memory. This study investigated the acute effects of both electrical (E-taVNS) and ultrasound (U-taVNS) modalities on working memory using a 3-back task in healthy young adults. We hypothesized that active taVNS would enhance working memory performance relative to sham, and that both stimulation modalities would engage similar neuromodulatory mechanisms. Materials and Methods Fifty-nine participants underwent a single-blind, sham-controlled, within-subject design study, with working memory performance assessed using a 3-back task before and after stimulation. Primary performance measures included correct rejection rate, error false alarm, and sensitivity ( d ′). Statistical analyses compared pre- and post-stimulation performance across modalities. Results E-taVNS significantly enhanced working memory performance through an increase in correct rejection rate and sensitivity (measured by d’ ), alongside a reduction in error of false alarm. U-taVNS showed a similar directional trend across performance measures, although these effects did not reach statistical significance. Baseline anxiety levels significantly predicted individual responsiveness to taVNS. In terms of tolerability, a higher proportion of participants receiving E-taVNS reported skin irritation compared to those receiving U-taVNS. Conclusions E-taVNS can acutely enhance working memory performance, while U-taVNS may offer a comparable, better tolerated alternative. Our findings highlight the potential of taVNS to support memory function, while showing the importance of further research to clarify modality-specific effects and optimize stimulation parameters.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: Ultrasound taVNS (U-taVNS) to right cymba conchae
Target: vagus nerve — “right cymba conchae (auricular branch of the vagus nerve)”
Device: other named manufacturer · NeurGear Inc., Rochester, NY, USA · ZenBud ✓
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 5,300 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | not reportedimplied by duty cycle ÷ PRF: 12.1951 ms (not stated by the paper) | ⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 41 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 50 | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 1,800 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Pressure, domain unspecified (kPa) | 1,030 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²) | 0.081 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
Participants received 30 minutes of taVNS per session; each participant completed two sessions (one active, one sham) separated by at least five days, with session order counterbalanced. Sham stimulation used an identical sham device that delivered no active ultrasound.
Consistency checks: intensity pressure inconsistent unspecified domain.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— 29 participants were allocated to U-taVNS, but one female participant was excluded from analysis for missing sham-session data ('Due to missing data from Sham session, one female participant from U-taVNS was excluded from the analysis'; 'Therefore, a total of 58 participants were analyzed, 30 for E-taVNS and 28 for U-taVNS.'); n_subjects reflects the enrolled/allocated total (29) rather than the analysed total (28).exposures[0].unspecified_domain.pressure_kpa— The paper labels this 1.03 MPa value 'average intensity', though MPa is a pressure unit not an intensity unit; recorded as pressure_kpa (1030 kPa) rather than an intensity field.exposures[0].unspecified_domain.isppa_w_cm2— 'Peak mechanical output of 0.081 W/cm2' is not explicitly labelled ISPPA or ISPTA; assigned to ISPPA given the word 'peak', but this is an inference.exposures[0].timing.pulse_duration_ms— Duty cycle (50%) and PRF (41 Hz) are stated but pulse duration is not; not computed per the no-arithmetic rule.exposures[0].free_field— The paper does not state whether the reported pressure/intensity values are free-field or in-situ; recorded under unspecified_domain.