Combined continuous theta burst transcranial ultrasound and magnetic stimulation for induction of cortical plasticity
Kai-Hsiang Stanley Chen, Yih-Chih Jacinta Kuo, Wei-Chih Yang, Jean-François Nankoo, Yan-Siou Dong, Hsin-Yun Chang, Hao-Li Liu, Yao-Chia Shih, Gin-Shin Chen, Robert Chen
NeuroImage 2026, 338, 122067 · 10.1016/j.neuroimage.2026.122067
Abstract
Background Magnetic continuous theta burst stimulation (cTBS) is known to suppress human motor cortical excitability. Whether transcranial ultrasound stimulation (TUS) delivered in a continuous theta burst pattern (ctbTUS) produces similar inhibitory effects and whether co-applying ctbTUS with cTBS enhances these effects remains unclear. Methods Four stimulation conditions: ctbTUS + sham cTBS (ctbTUS), sham ctbTUS + cTBS (cTBS), sham ctbTUS + sham cTBS (sham), and ctbTUS + cTBS (cosTBS) were applied. Fifteen participants underwent neurophysiological testing with motor-evoked potentials (MEPs) recorded at 0, 10, 20, and 60 min post-stimulation, normalized to pre-intervention baselines. Additionally, 18 participants underwent resting-state functional MRI (rsfMRI) to assess functional connectivity (FC) between the hand representation of the motor cortex (M1) and other brain regions. Simulated skull density, transducer-skull space, and online-inhibition characteristics were evaluated as modulatory factors. Results ctbTUS induced inhibitory after-effects measured by MEP amplitude lasting up to 60 min (p = 0.001). However, cosTBS reduced this inhibition, although immediate MEP suppression remained (p = 0.024). rsfMRI revealed reduced FC between M1 and bilateral pre/post-central gyri and increased cerebellar FC after ctbTUS, but such after-stimulation patterns were absent after cosTBS. Higher pseudo-computed-tomography-derived skull density was associated with more negative ΔFC (or FC suppression, β = -0.844, p = 0.004). Participants with online inhibition showed greater offline MEP suppression (p = 0.004). Conclusions ctbTUS induced inhibitory after-effects lasting up to 60 min but cosTBS decreased this suppression, likely via calcium-dependent plasticity or homeostatic plasticity effects. Skull density, and individual sensitivity to TUS are critical factors influencing TUS efficacy.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: Continuous theta burst TUS (ctbTUS) to left M1 hand representation
Target: primary motor cortex — “hand representation of the primary motor cortex (M1), FDI motor hotspot”
Device: Sonic Concepts · Sonic Concepts Inc, Bothell, Washington · H246 ✓
| Waveform | theta burst | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 40 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 5 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 20pulse duration × PRF gives 20% | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 40 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | 612 | ✓✓✓ |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | deratingsingle value | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | 183.6 | ✓✓✓ |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | 0.84 | ✓✓✓ |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | 0.17 | ✓✓✓ |
| Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²) | 20 | ✓✓✓ |
The parameters of ctbTUS were 5 Hz pulse repetition frequency, 40 ms burst duration equal to 20% duty cycle and 40 s sonication duration. For the sham ctbTUS, the power output was set to 0 W. Four conditions (ctbTUS, cTBS, cosTBS, sham) were tested in random order, counterbalanced among participants, with each paradigm at least one week apart; MEPs were recorded at baseline and 0, 10, 20 and 60 min after each stimulation paradigm. A separate online-inhibition responder test used a different TUS protocol (1000 Hz pulse repetition frequency, 30% duty cycle, 500 ms sonication duration, with a single TMS test pulse delivered at 490 ms) to classify participants as with (OI+) or without (OI-) online inhibition.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— Neurophysiological (n=15) and rsfMRI (n=18) cohorts overlapped by 6 participants; the paper never states a combined unique total, so group sizes are listed rather than summed.exposures[0].free_field.isppa_w_cm2— The '20 W/cm2' value is described as 'shown on the TPO panel' (amplifier output setting) rather than an explicitly labelled measured free-field Isppa; recorded as stated.exposures[0].timing.protocol_description— A second TUS protocol (1000 Hz PRF, 30% duty cycle, 500 ms sonication) was used only for an online-inhibition responder test, not for the main ctbTUS after-effect measurements; its parameters are given in protocol_description rather than the numeric timing fields to avoid conflating two different stimulation protocols on the same target/frequency.