Harnessing theta-gamma coupled brainwaves using ultrasound for spinal astrocyte revitalization and sustained neuropathic pain relief in mice
Tien Thuy Phan, Sangyep Shin, Ho Jeong Kim, Keunhyung Lee, Tai-Young Kim, Jae-Hun Lee, Dong-Wook Kang, Hyunjin Shin, Hye Eun Lee, Nishani Jayanika Jayathilake, Minseok Koo, Hyungju Park, Hyun-Woo Kim, Yee Joon Kim, Ji Young Mun, Jinhyoung Park, Kyu Pil Lee, C. Justin Lee, Joo Min Park
Nature Communications 2025, 17 · 10.1038/s41467-025-66980-6
Abstract
Ultrasound stimulation is a promising non-invasive strategy for neuropathic pain, yet its sustained effects and underlying mechanisms remain poorly understood. We investigated brainwave-patterned low-intensity continuous theta-burst ultrasound stimulation (LI-cTBUS) in a mouse model of partial sciatic nerve crush injury (PCI). LI-cTBUS substantially alleviated mechanical allodynia during and after treatment. Mechanistically, PCI upregulated brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF)/tropomyosin receptor kinase B (TrkB) signaling, while LI-cTBUS enhanced extracellular BDNF uptake by spinal astrocytes, thereby normalizing the BDNF/TrkB pathway and restoring potassium chloride cotransporter 2 (KCC2) function. Furthermore, LI-cTBUS attenuated reactive astrogliosis via activation of the transient receptor potential ankyrin 1 (TRPA1) channel, indicating a glial mechanism for ultrasound-induced analgesia. Transcriptomic profiling revealed that PCI altered the spinal transcriptome, whereas LI-cTBUS reversed inflammatory signatures, corrected aberrant BDNF/TrkB signaling, and restored GABAergic transmission. Collectively, these findings demonstrate that LI-cTBUS reprograms reactive astrocytes, suppresses nociceptive signaling, and provides sustained relief from neuropathic pain, underscoring its therapeutic potential for non-invasive spinal neuromodulation.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: In vivo LI-cTBUS/USCS to lumbar-sacral spinal cord (partial sciatic nerve crush injury and spared nerve injury models)
Target: lumbar spinal cord, spinal dorsal horn — “lumbar-sacral region of the spinal cord (dorsal horn)”
Device: Sonic Concepts · Sonic Concepts, Inc. · H217 (0.5 MHz focused single-element, 33.0 mm diameter, 63.2 mm radius of curvature) ✓
| Waveform | pulsed, theta_burst | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 1, 3swept | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 500, 100, 200swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Duty cycle (%) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 40 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²) | 0.77, 0.88, 3.4, 10.8, 77swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
Ultrasound-based spinal cord stimulation (USCS): bursts of 500 Hz (5 pulses, 1 ms pulse duration, 500 kHz centre frequency) with a 40 Hz (25 ms) train pattern, totalling 800 pulses. Continuous theta-burst ultrasound stimulation (cTBUS-100Hz/200Hz): bursts of 100 Hz or 200 Hz (4 pulses, 3 ms pulse duration, 500 kHz centre frequency) with a 5 Hz theta train pattern, totalling 800 pulses (~40 s train). Delivered once daily for 10 consecutive days (PCI model, from day 17 post-injury) or day 6-10 post-injury (SNI model) through intact skin to the lumbar-sacral spinal cord under 2% isoflurane anaesthesia. Additional variants: intensity screening for cTBUS-200Hz (0.77, 0.88, 3.4, 10.8 W/cm2), pulse-count screening (400, 800, 1200, 1600 pulses), a high-intensity comparison (HI-cTBUS, 77 W/cm2) for c-Fos immunohistochemistry, and a re-induction series (a second 4-day stimulation block after relapse).
Exposure 2: In vitro LI-cTBUS to primary spinal astrocyte cultures
Target: cultured glia — “primary spinal cord astrocyte cultures”
Device: Olympus / Panametrics · Olympus · V301-SU (0.5 MHz single-element, 25 mm diameter) ✓
| Waveform | theta burst | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 3 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 200 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | not reportedpulse duration × PRF gives 60% | |
| Sonication duration (s) | 40 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not applicable | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not applicable | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not applicable | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not applicable | |
| Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²) | 2.4, 2.8swept | ✓✓✓ |
Continuous theta-burst ultrasound protocol (cTBUS-200 Hz: 200 Hz bursts repeated at a 5 Hz train frequency), delivered to primary spinal astrocyte cultures via an Olympus V301-SU transducer positioned directly above the culture slide, at 2.4 or 2.8 W/cm2, 40 s per session, once daily for three consecutive days.
Flags from extraction
exposures[0].timing.waveform— USCS is a nested burst pattern (5 pulses at 500 Hz forming a burst, bursts repeated at 40 Hz) mimicking clinical burst spinal cord stimulation; it is not a simple continuous/pulsed/theta pattern, so mapped to other_patterned. cTBUS-100/200Hz are explicitly named theta-burst by the authors.exposures[0].timing.pulse_repetition_frequency_hz— Nested burst structure: value taken as the within-burst pulse rate (500 Hz for USCS, 100 or 200 Hz for cTBUS-100/200), not the outer train/theta repetition rate (40 Hz for USCS, 5 Hz theta for cTBUS); an alternative reading could treat the outer rate as the PRF.exposures[0].timing.duty_cycle_pct— Not explicitly stated by the authors for any of the three in vivo patterns; could be computed from pulse duration and PRF but that arithmetic is avoided per instructions.exposures[0].timing.sonication_duration_s— 40 s total train duration is stated explicitly elsewhere for LI-cTBUS (single-pulse vs LI-cTBUS 40 s calcium-imaging comparison) and is consistent with 800 pulses / 4 pulses-per-burst at a 5 Hz train; the USCS protocol's total train duration is not explicitly stated and is not included in this value.exposures[0].unspecified_domain.isppa_w_cm2— 0.77 W/cm2 is the default/baseline intensity for most in vivo experiments; 0.88, 3.4 and 10.8 W/cm2 are from the cTBUS-200Hz intensity screen; 77 W/cm2 is the high-intensity (HI-cTBUS) comparison condition used for the c-Fos immunohistochemistry experiment, not for the main behavioural dataset.exposures[1].timing.pulse_duration_ms— In vitro cTBUS-200Hz protocol is stated to reuse the same burst pattern as in vivo, but the paper does not explicitly restate the 3 ms pulse duration for the in vitro experiments, so left not_reported rather than assumed.n_subjects— Study comprises many small sub-experiments (N=3-13 mice each, both PCI and SNI models, plus in vitro cultures); no single total number of animals used across the whole study is stated.sham_type— No device-off or inactive-transducer sham is described for the main behavioural experiments; comparator groups are untreated PCI/SNI mice or sham-operated (surgical sham) controls rather than an ultrasound sham.