Transcranial ultrasound with electrical stimulation of the cerebello-parietal nucleus on cerebral blood flow and limb function in patients with stroke
Jing Liu, Lu-Yi Wang, Zi-Bo Liu, Hong-Ling Li, Yu-Yan Chen, Xiao-Kai Yuan, Lin Chi
Neurological Sciences 2025, 46, 257-266 · 10.1007/s10072-024-07704-4
Abstract
Objective To investigate the efficacy of transcranial ultrasound stimulation (TUS) combined with Fastigial nucleus stimulation (FNS) on cerebral blood flow and limb function in patients in the acute phase of ischemic stroke. Methods A total of 90 patients in the acute phase of ischemic stroke were randomly divided into an FNS, TUS, and TUS + FNS group (30 patients each), and all patients also received conventional treatment. The FNS group was treated with FNS alone. The TUS group was treated with TUS alone. The TUS + FNS group was treated with both TUS and FNS. The three groups were treated once a day for 6 days a week. Results The simplified Fugl-Meyer Assessment (FMA) and Barthel index scores (BI), and the peak systolic blood flow velocity (Vs) and the mean blood flow velocity (Vm) of the anterior cerebral artery, middle cerebral artery, and posterior cerebral artery, were significantly higher in all three groups compared with before treatment (P Conclusion The FNS and TUS treatments improved the function of and accelerated cerebral blood flow in patients with acute ischemic stroke to different degrees, and the combined use of both treatment types was overall more effective.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: Transcranial ultrasound stimulation to bilateral temporal and occipital windows
Target: whole brain or unfocused — “bilateral temporal window (1 cm above the zygomatic arch) and occipital window (1 cm below the occipital tuberosity), covering ACA/MCA/PCA blood supply areas”
Device: other named manufacturer · Shijiazhuang Du Kang Medical Devices Co., Ltd. · DK-102TC transcranial ultrasound electrotherapy instrument ✓
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 800 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 10 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 6.7, 16.7swept | ✓?⚑ |
| Duty cycle (%) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 1,200 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²) | 0.9 | ✓✓✓⚑ |
Collimated pulse wave from a 40-mm probe (effective radiation area 3-4 cm2); pulse duration 10 ms; pulse repetition period 60-150 ms; duty cycle of the output waveform given as ratios 1:5, 1:8, 1:11, 1:14. Three probes placed at bilateral temporal and occipital windows; stimulation frequency 800 kHz +/-10%, intensity 0.9 W/cm2, duration 20 min, once daily, 6 days/week, average treatment course 8 days (max 12 days).
Flags from extraction
exposures[0].timing.pulse_repetition_frequency_hz— Converted from the stated pulse repetition period (60-150 ms) to Hz; paper does not itself state a PRF in Hz.exposures[0].timing.duty_cycle_pct— Paper states duty cycle only as ratios (1:5, 1:8, 1:11, 1:14) without specifying whether this is on:off or on:total, so it cannot be safely converted to a percentage.exposures[0].unspecified_domain.isppa_w_cm2— Paper states only a generic 'stimulation intensity' (0.9 W/cm2) without specifying spatial-peak-pulse-average vs spatial-average-temporal-average, and without stating whether this is a free-field or in-situ value.exposures[0].target.terms— TUS target is described only as bilateral temporal and occipital acoustic windows for whole-brain blood-flow enhancement, not a specific anatomical structure; mapped to whole_brain_or_unfocused.n_subjects— Total ultrasound-exposed n is the sum of the TUS-only and TUS+FNS groups (30 each); paper never states this combined total directly, so the two group sizes are listed rather than summed.direction_of_effect— Study reports vascular (blood-flow velocity) and functional (FMA/BI) outcomes rather than a direct measure of cortical excitation/inhibition; mapped to not_assessed.adverse_events— Source sentence ('no patients were found. Obvious adverse reactions occurred.') appears to be a translation/OCR artifact; interpreted as meaning no adverse reactions were observed.