Transcranial ultrasound neuromodulation for epilepsy: A pilot safety trial
Ellen J. Bubrick, Nathan J. McDannold, Janet Orozco, Timothy Y. Mariano, Laura Rigolo, Alexandra J. Golby, Yanmei Tie, P. Jason White
Brain Stimulation 2024, 17, 7-9 · 10.1016/j.brs.2023.11.013
Exposures
Exposure 1: hippocampal TUS across 4 sequential targets per session
Target: hippocampus — “anterior hippocampus”
Device: custom-built
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 548 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 18.3, 50swept | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 140 | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | 140, 420swept | ✓✓✓ |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | 0.5, 1.1swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported |
Four targets (4mm apart) in the anterior hippocampus were landmarked for sequential sonication beginning anteriorly and moving posteriorly; for each target, 140-s sonications were performed over 6 sessions (2 per week for 3 weeks). Duty cycle was varied by changing the number of wavelengths per burst: Subject 1 used 50% in session 1, then 18.3% thereafter; Subjects 2-6 used 18.3% throughout. The paper separately states 'the burst repetition period remained 2 ms (f=500 Hz) and the pulse repetition period remained 7 s (f=0.14 Hz)', i.e. a nested burst structure within the 140-s sonication; it is unclear from the text which of these two periods (2 ms or 7 s) corresponds to the 'BRP = 7 s' cited alongside PRF=500 Hz in the main parameter summary, so pulse_duration_ms (derivable only via duty_cycle/PRF arithmetic) is left not_reported.
Flags from extraction
exposures[0].timing.pulse_duration_ms— Paper gives duty cycle (18.3-50%) and PRF (500 Hz) plus two differently-named periods ('burst repetition period' = 2 ms and 'pulse repetition period' = 7 s); the burst rule would require dividing duty cycle by PRF to get pulse duration, which is arithmetic not explicitly stated in the text, so left not_reported.exposures[0].free_field.ispta_w_cm2— Per-subject/session ISPTA values reported later in the text range from 0.18 to 1.1 W/cm2 (e.g. Subject 1 session 2 used 0.18 W/cm2), which falls outside the main summary range of 0.50-1.1 W/cm2 quoted here; flagging the inconsistency between the summary statement and per-session detail.n_subjects— All 6 enrolled subjects received active TUS (single-arm safety trial, no sham comparator).