The efficacy of low-intensity transcranial ultrasound stimulation on negative symptoms in schizophrenia: A double-blind, randomized sham-controlled study
Zhaolin Zhai, Liyuan Ren, Zhenhua Song, Qiong Xiang, Kaiming Zhuo, Suzhen Zhang, Xuan Li, Yi Zhang, Xiong Jiao, Shanbao Tong, Junfeng Sun, Dengtang Liu
Brain Stimulation 2023, 16, 790-792 · 10.1016/j.brs.2023.04.021
Exposures
Exposure 1: Excitatory rTUS to left DLPFC
Target: dorsolateral prefrontal cortex — “left DLPFC”
Device: Olympus / Panametrics · Olympus NDT · V391-SU ✓
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | not reported | |
| Duty cycle (%) | not reported | |
| Sonication duration (s) | not reported |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | ⚑ |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported |
rTUS delivered via an immersion-type focused ultrasound transducer (focal length 3.8 cm, 500 kHz), driven by a custom-made TUS system, using pulsed ultrasound waves per the authors' previously published excitatory protocol for healthy humans; delivered on workdays for three consecutive weeks (15 sessions total) to the left DLPFC; ultrasound intensity was well below FDA guidelines. Numeric pulse parameters are shown only in a figure schematic (Fig. 1A), not stated in the text.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— Recorded as the 13 patients who received active rTUS ('exposed to ultrasound'); the other 13 patients received sham stimulation with the TUS system's power shut off, so no pulses were delivered to them.exposures[0].timing.pulse_duration_ms— Pulse timing parameters (T1-T4, PRF, duty cycle) are shown only in a figure schematic (Fig. 1A), not stated in the main text.exposures[0].free_field.pressure_kpa— No numeric pressure or intensity value is given in the text; only a statement that intensity is 'well below FDA guidelines.'