Pulsed-Focused Ultrasound Provides Long-Term Suppression of Epileptiform Bursts in the Kainic Acid-Induced Epilepsy Rat Model
Po-Chun Chu, Hsiang-Yu Yu, Cheng-Chia Lee, Robert Fisher, Hao-Li Liu
Neurotherapeutics 2022, 19, 1368-1380 · 10.1007/s13311-022-01250-7
Abstract
Focused ultrasound (FUS) has potential utility for modulating regional brain excitability and possibly aiding seizure control; however, the duration of any beneficial effect is unknown. This study explores the efficacy and time course of a short series of pulsed FUS in suppressing EEG epileptiform spikes/bursts in a kainic acid (KA) animal model of temporal lobe epilepsy. Forty-four male Sprague-Dawley rats were recorded for 14 weeks with EEG while software calculated EEG numbers of epileptiform spikes and bursts (≥ 3 spikes/s). Four regimens of FUS given in a single session at week 7 were evaluated, with mechanical index (MI) ranging from 0.25 to 0.75, intensity spatial peak temporal average (I SPTA ) from 0.1 to 2.8 W per cm 2 , duty cycle from 1 to 30%, and three consecutive pulse trains for 5 or 10 min each. Controls included sham injections in four and KA without FUS in eleven animals. Histological analysis investigated tissue effects. All animals receiving KA evidenced EEG spikes, averaging 10,378 ± 1651 spikes per 8 h and 1255 ± 199 bursts per 8 h by weeks 6-7. The KA-only group showed a 30% of increase in spikes and bursts by week 14. Compared to the KA-only group, spike counts were reduced by about 25%, burst counts by about 33%, and burst durations by about 50% with FUS. Behavioral seizures were not analyzed, but electrographic seizures longer than 10 s declined up to 70% after some FUS regimens. Repeated-measure ANOVA showed a significant effect of higher intensity and longer sonication duration FUS treatment using 0.75-MI, I SPTA 2.8 W/cm 2 , 30% duty cycle for 10-min sonications (group effect, F (4, 15) = 6.321, p SPTA 0.5 W/cm 2 , 30% duty cycle for 10-min sonications. This regimen reduced inflammation and gliosis at weeks 8-14 and protected hippocampal tissue. This study demonstrates that low-intensity pulsed ultrasound can modulate epileptiform activity for up to 7 weeks and, if replicated in the clinical setting, might be a practical treatment for epilepsy.
Abstract via europepmc.
Exposures
Exposure 1: Pulsed FUS to right hippocampus (4 parameter regimens: groups 3-6)
Target: hippocampus — “right hippocampus (CA1, CA2, CA3)”
Device: Sonic Concepts · SonicConcept ✓
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 500 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | not reported | ⚑ |
| Duty cycle (%) | 30, 5, 1, 30swept | ✓✓✓ |
| Sonication duration (s) | 600, 300, 300, 600swept | ✓✓✓ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | 2.8, 0.5, 0.1, 0.5swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported |
FUS exposure level was set at 0.75 MI in groups 3, 4, and 5 and 0.25 MI in group 6. The exposure duration was either three consecutive 5-min (groups 4 and 5) or 10-min (groups 3 and 6) 'on' periods, with a 5-min 'off' period between each 'on' period, delivered in a single session at week 7. Groups (duty cycle, ISPTA, duration): group 3 = 30%, 2.8 W/cm2, 10 min*3; group 4 = 5%, 0.5 W/cm2, 5 min*3; group 5 = 1%, 0.1 W/cm2, 5 min*3; group 6 = 30%, 0.5 W/cm2, 10 min*3.
Flags from extraction
n_subjects— Abstract states 'Forty-four male Sprague-Dawley rats' while Methods states 'Forty-three male Sprague-Dawley rats'; n_subjects (25) is the number of KA-injected rats treated with FUS per Methods and Table 1 (9+5+6+5). An additional 4 non-KA rats were exposed to FUS only for histology/safety testing and are not included in this count.exposures[0].timing.pulse_duration_ms— Paper reports duty cycle, mechanical index, and on/off period durations for each group but does not state pulse duration or PRF numerically anywhere in the text.exposures[0].timing.pulse_repetition_frequency_hz— Not stated numerically; only duty cycle and 'on'/'off' period durations are given.exposures[0].free_field.ispta_w_cm2— List order corresponds to groups 3, 4, 5, 6 as given in Table 1 (2.8, 0.5, 0.1, 0.5 W/cm2 respectively), matched to duty_cycle_pct and sonication_duration_s lists in the same order.