← Explore

Intense Focused Ultrasound Preferentially Stimulates Transected Nerves Within Residual Limbs: Pilot Study

Pierre D Mourad, Janna L Friedly, Abbi M McClintic, Tessa A Olmstead, John D Loeser

Pain Medicine 2018 · 10.1093/pm/pnx188

human patientchronic painotherbehaviourclinical scale

Abstract

Objective Identifying pain generators in tissue deep in the skin can require uncomfortable, complicated, and invasive tests. We describe pilot studies testing the hypothesis that ultrasound image-guided, intense focused ultrasound (ig-iFU) can noninvasively and differentially stimulate the end of transected nerves in the residual limbs of amputee patients. Design We applied iFU to the transected nerve ending as individual pulses with a length of 0.1 seconds using a carrier frequency of 2.0 MHz. After targeting, we gradually increased the iFU intensity to reach consistent patient-reported stimulation of the transected nerve ending. We also stimulated the proximal nerve, tissue near the nerve ending, and the intact contralateral nerve. We described the resulting sensations and correlated the results of the study participant's pre-iFU study responses to phantom and residual limb pain questionnaires. Results iFU spatial and temporal average intensity values between 16 W/cm2 and 433 W/cm2 that were applied to the transected nerve ending and proximal nerve elicited sensations, including phantom limb sensations, while the same intensity applied to control tissue centimeters away from the nerve ending, or to the intact nerve on the contralateral limb, did not. Two out of 11 study participants reported only mild and transient pain created by iFU stimulation. Successful iFU intensity values correlated with neither phantom nor residual limb pain scores. Conclusions Transected nerves had greater sensitivity to iFU stimulation than ipsilateral and contralateral control tissue, including intact nerve. These results support the view that ig-iFU may one day help physicians identify deep, tender tissue in patients who report experiencing pain.

Abstract via europepmc.

Specieshuman
Subjects11 participants
Sessions per subjectnot reported
Randomisednot reported
Blindingsingle
Sham / controlundescribed, active control site
Auditory controlnot reported
Readout timingonline
Anaesthesianot applicable
Readoutsbehaviour, clinical scale — Patient-reported sensation to iFU (threshold intensity); LANSS; numeric pain rating scale
Direction of effectexcitatoryiFU at the transected nerve ending and proximal nerve elicited sensations (including phantom limb sensations); same intensity at control tissue or intact contralateral nerve generally did not.
Adverse eventsobservedTwo out of 11 study participants reported only mild and transient pain created by iFU stimulation.

Exposures

Exposure 1: Image-guided iFU to transected nerve ending (and proximal nerve, control tissue, contralateral nerve)

Target: nerve injury site — “the transected nerve ending”
Device: custom-built · five 2.0 MHz iFU transducers with foci at 0.4, 1.3, 2.45, 2.75 and 3.0 cm

Pulse timing
Waveformcontinuous
Fundamental frequency (kHz)2,000✓✓✓
Pulse duration (ms)not applicable
Pulse repetition frequency (Hz)not applicable
Duty cycle (%)not applicable
Sonication duration (s)0.1✓✓✓
Pressure and intensity, by domain
Free-field pressure (kPa)not reported
Free-field Isppa (W/cm²)not reported
Free-field Ispta (W/cm²)not reported
In-situ estimatenot reported
In-situ pressure (kPa)not reported
In-situ Isppa (W/cm²)not reported
In-situ Ispta (W/cm²)not reported
Ispta, domain unspecified (W/cm²)16, 433swept✓?⚑
Protocol, in the paper’s words

Three to five individual 0.1-second bursts at approximately 1 Hz, intensity raised stepwise from 16 W/cm2 until a reliable sensation (two consecutive sets); maximum device output 1,032 W/cm2.

Flags from extraction

  • n_subjects — Results text mentions 11/13 participants with LANSS above 12, inconsistent with 11 participants stated elsewhere.
  • exposures[0].unspecified_domain.ispta_w_cm2 — Range 16-433 W/cm2 is the threshold values reported in the abstract; intensities were stepped up to a device maximum of 1,032 W/cm2. Calibrated in water by hydrophone but values not stated to be free-field.
  • exposures[0].device.family — Paper says the five transducers were created by the authors, maker not named; custom_built chosen.
  • sham_type — Sham-applied iFU is mentioned but its mechanism is not described; control tissue and contralateral nerve also stimulated actively.
  • exposures[0].timing.waveform — Single 0.1 s burst per application, no internal gating described; recorded as continuous.