Reversible Effects of Ultrasound on Spinal Reflexes
C. N. SHEALY, E. HENNEMAN
Archives of Neurology 1962 · 10.1001/archneur.1962.00450230036005
Exposures
Exposure 1: Focused and defocused ultrasound irradiation of L7-S1 spinal cord
Target: lumbar spinal cord — “L7-S1 portion of the spinal cord”
Device: custom-built
| Waveform | pulsed | |
|---|---|---|
| Fundamental frequency (kHz) | 2,700 | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse duration (ms) | 50, 300swept | ✓✓✓ |
| Pulse repetition frequency (Hz) | 0.33, 2swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Duty cycle (%) | not reported | |
| Sonication duration (s) | 30, 60, 555swept | ✓✓✓⚑ |
| Free-field pressure (kPa) | not reported | ⚑ |
|---|---|---|
| Free-field Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| Free-field Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ estimate | not reported | |
| In-situ pressure (kPa) | not reported | |
| In-situ Isppa (W/cm²) | not reported | |
| In-situ Ispta (W/cm²) | not reported |
Ultrasound (2.7 megacycles per second) was used to irradiate the exposed spinal cord; in some experiments the sound was focused 2 or 3 mm ventral to the dorsum of the spinal cord in the L7-S1 region, in others a 'defocused' beam was aimed 5 mm above one side of the cord. Brief irradiations used pulses of 0.3 second duration at a rate of 1 per second (or 0.2-0.3 s pulses at a period of 3.0 s); more prolonged irradiations of up to 9 1/4 minutes were also given at rates of 1 pulse every 1-3 seconds. Dose was described by plate voltage (700-1950 V) across the piezoelectric crystal rather than a calibrated acoustic pressure or intensity.
Flags from extraction
exposures[0].timing.pulse_repetition_frequency_hz— PRF converted directly from stated pulse rates/periods ('rate of 1 per second' = 1 Hz; elsewhere 'a pulse period of 3.0 seconds' / '1 pulse every 3 seconds' = 0.33 Hz); duty cycle was not computed since that would require combining these with pulse width.exposures[0].timing.sonication_duration_s— Total irradiation durations vary substantially across the many experiments in Tables 1-2 (from single brief pulses up to a 9 1/4-minute train); only the three durations described in the narrated example experiments (30 s, 60 s, 9 1/4 min) are listed here.n_subjects— Paper states 42 electrophysiological experiments (21 with accompanying histology) but does not explicitly equate experiments with individual cats; taken as 1 experiment per animal for this acute, non-survival preparation.exposures[0].target.terms— Sonication was aimed at the dorsal part of the L7-S1 spinal cord segment (focal point dorsal to the motor neurons); classified under lumbar_spinal_cord as the closest matching target term.exposures[0].free_field.pressure_kpa— Dose is only reported as plate voltage across the piezoelectric crystal (700-1950 V); the paper states this intensity 'was not calculated, since the attenuation of ultrasound through the several media was not known', so no pressure or intensity value is reported.