← Explore

Reversible Block of Nerve Conduction by Ultrasound

ROBERT R. YOUNG

Archives of Neurology 1961 · 10.1001/archneur.1961.00450070085009

ex vivo tissuehealthyinvasive electrophysiology
Speciesfrog
Subjects15 preparations
Sessions per subjectnot applicable
Randomisednot applicable
Blindingnot applicable
Sham / controlnone
Auditory controlnot reported
Readout timingboth
Anaesthesianot applicable
Readoutsinvasive electrophysiology — Compound action potentials of alpha, beta and gamma fibre groups recorded from the sciatic nerve
Direction of effectinhibitoryFocused ultrasound reversibly or irreversibly blocked conduction in the sciatic nerve; smaller myelinated fibres (gamma, then beta) were blocked before larger alpha fibres, and repeated ultrasound produced cumulative, increasing depression of conduction.
Adverse eventsnot applicable

Exposures

Exposure 1: Focused ultrasound irradiation of frog sciatic nerve

Target: sciatic nerve — “sciatic nerve”
Device: custom-built

Pulse timing
Waveformpulsed
Fundamental frequency (kHz)2,700✓✓✓
Pulse duration (ms)140, 1,200swept✓✓✓
Pulse repetition frequency (Hz)not reported⚑
Duty cycle (%)not reported
Sonication duration (s)not reported
Pressure and intensity, by domain
Free-field pressure (kPa)not reported
Free-field Isppa (W/cm²)not reported⚑
Free-field Ispta (W/cm²)not reported
In-situ estimatenot applicable
In-situ pressure (kPa)not applicable
In-situ Isppa (W/cm²)not applicable
In-situ Ispta (W/cm²)not applicable
Isppa, domain unspecified (W/cm²)1,150✓✓✓
Protocol, in the paper’s words

The ultrasound (2.7 megacycles per sec.) was administered in pulses of 0.14-1.2 sec. duration, with a 2-3 sec. interval between pulses. In each experiment the flux of ultrasound (pulse width and train length) was increased gradually until a level was reached which would affect conduction of impulses; depending on the effect desired, a pulse width of 0.5-0.8 sec. and a train length of 1-20 pulses were usually employed.

Flags from extraction

  • exposures[0].free_field.isppa_w_cm2 — Paper states only an undifferentiated 'intensity' (1,150 W/cm^2) calibrated at the focal region in saline; it does not specify spatial-peak pulse-average vs. temporal-average, and the nerve itself was covered in liquid petrolatum rather than saline during exposure, so the domain of this calibration value is uncertain.
  • exposures[0].timing.pulse_repetition_frequency_hz — Only an inter-pulse interval (2-3 s) and train lengths (1-20 pulses) are given; no explicit repetition rate or duty cycle is stated.